Jazz n' Blues Reviews
Sonic Trance (Warner Bros. 48447; September 9, 2003)
by Nicholas Payton
Reviewed by Don Brown Sr.
The Jazz Internet
Las Vegas Jazz n' Blues
Caught Live Too!
Las Vegas Blues
music divider

Nicholas Payton: Sonic Trance

From the opening chant of Sonic Trance, you can tell that Nicholas Payton is going to take jazz in a different direction. What you learn on this eighteen song CD is just how many directions he takes the music. Do you like your jazz light and airy? If you don't, let Payton take you on one hell of a ride.

"Praalude (Sonic Trance)" sets the tone for this CD. It gives you a little bit of the different along with the familiar. "Fela 1" is a freestyle jam that gives the spotlight to the rhythm section of drummer Adonis Rose, percussionist Karriem Riggins, and upright bassist Vincente Archer. "Cannabis Leaf Rag 1" fuses Scott Joplin's "Maple Leaf Rag" with a hip hop beat.

"Shabba Un-Ranked," a reggae rap tune, would be in heavy rotation at dance clubs if it were longer. Keyboardist Kevin Hays is featured on "Blu Hays," showing off his talented fingers. "Spiral" is a strange little tune that has the band and Payton playing different tempos at the same time.

"Cannabis Leaf Rag 2" doesn't have the same feel as the first one. "Two Mexicans On The Wall" gives you a good tango feel before breaking away. "Toys In Babeland" brings this wildly entertaining and experimental CD to its end.

Sonic Trance will be in stores September 9th on Warner Brothers Records.

Track Listing: Praalude (Sonic Trance); Fela 1; Velvet Handcuffs; Cannabis Leaf Rag 1; Sťance; Tantric (Lewd Interlude); Shabba Un-Ranked; Sťance (Romantic Reprise); Fela 2; Tantric; Blu Hays; Stinkie Twinkie (Remix); Spiral; Peeping Tim; Cannabis Leaf Rag 2; Two Mexicans on the Wall: (i) Too Much Tequila, (ii) Sleeves Too Long, Pants Too Short, (iii) El Guitarronista; Exorcism; Toys in Babeland.

Personnel: Nicholas Payton (vocals, trumpet, flugelhorn, keyboards, bass, drum). Sonic Trance: Tim Warfield (soprano & tenor saxophone); Kevin Hays (vocals, recorder, keyboards, piano); Vincente Archer (bass); Adonis Rose (drums); Daniel Sadownick (percussion); Karriem Riggins (samples)

Visit Liquid Jazz for free jazz resources and more.